Historical Society Begins a New Year

After twelve years, Priscilla MCarrty Reed has stepped down as president of the Whiting-Robertsdale Historical Society. And after nine years as secretary, Pat Zygowitz has also stepped down from her position.

Those were the only changes among officers and board members of the Historical Society for the 2019-2020 year. Al Koch was sworn in as the new president at the Society’s 42nd annual dinner, held on May 23, at the Knights of Columbus Hall. John Hmurovic will be the new secretary.

Frank Vargo continues as vice-president and Gloria Dosen as treasurer. All six members of the Board of Directors remain: Elaine Gehring, Marcia Janas, Gayle Faulkner Kosalko, Gerry Peterson, Judy Pitlik, and Lenora Zehme.

Whiting City Judge Pat Likens officiated at the swearing-in of the officers and board at the installation dinner, which was attended by about 80 people. The musical group, Indiana, provided entertainment.

The Whiting-Robertsdale Historical Society was founded in 1976 for the purpose of preserving and developing the history of our community. Everyone with a desire to help the Society in its mission, is welcome to become a member.